Board of Education

The Board is comprised of seven members, each elected at large from the district to a four (transition term only) or six year term of office.


To provide an exceptional educational experience that embraces all aspects of student achievement, and through an invested community inspires the development of well-rounded, innovative students for continued success through a safe, nurturing environment.

Board Meetings: Advance notice will be published on the school district's website and cable channel if it is necessary to add additional meetings or change a meeting date or location.

Date & Time: Regular meetings of the Board of Education are the fourth Tuesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. and Board Work Sessions will be the second Tuesday of each month beginning at 7:00 p.m., unless designated otherwise.

Location: All regular Board meetings will be held in the Robert B. Smith Board Room located in the East River Administration Building and all Board Work Sessions will be held in the East River Administration Building Conference Room, unless designated otherwise.

For Assistance: Individual with a disability who are in need of a reader, amplifier, qualified sign language interpreter, or any other form of auxiliary aid or service to attend or participate in the meeting or hearing, please contact the Superintendent's Office at 734-362-2581 at least one week (If the public notice is for a special meeting, the 7-day request period may need to be shortened.) prior to the meeting or as soon as possible.

Transition to BoardBook

Grosse Ile Township Schools is currently transitioning to a new system that will help keep school board meeting dates, agenda, and minutes in one place. 

Any meeting date after 8/3/2017 will be included in the links below.

Board Agendas & Minutes

Board of Education Policies and Bylaws

Policies and Bylaws

Board Members

Nadia Tonova - President
Term Dec. 2026

Frank DeMare III - Vice President 
Term  Dec 2026

Katie Cihak - Treasurer
Term Dec 2028

Jeffrey Anderson - Secretary
Term Dec 2028

Dr. Daniel Murphy - Trustee
Term Dec 2026

John Gatti - Trustee
Term Dec 2024

Suzanne Sassack  - Trustee
Term Dec 2024

Email Us

Please contact the Grosse Ile Board of Education at


Curriculum Committee

Finance Committee

Policy Committee

Buildings & Grounds

Frank DeMare III Spokesperson

Katie Cihak

John Gatti Spokesperson

Jeff Anderson

Jeffrey Anderson

Dr. Dan Murphy

Frank DeMare III

Katie Cihak

John Gatti

Suzanne Sassack

Dr. Dan Murphy

Suzanne Sassack

Nadia Tonova Alternate

Nadia Tonova  Alternate

Nadia Tonova

Nadia Tonova Alternate